Cherry Tree Nursery Early Autumn News

 

.

  1. Cherry Tree Nursery Early Autumn News

We would like to thank everybody who has supported us over the spring and summer, and all the people who came to our very successful September Plant Sale. We still have lots of plants with colourful flowers available, as well as autumn bedding, and bulbs which have been very popular this year.Our summer weekend opening times (9 to 3 on Saturdays and 10 to 3 on Sundays) continue until the end of October. After that we will be closed on Sundays and open from 9 until 1 on Saturdays. Next year’s plant sales will be on 25th March, 1st July and 9th September.
Our next event is One World Week, from 10th to 14th October, when the shop will be filled with goods from Traidcraft for you to enjoy, as well as all our usual products, and extra craft items hand-knitted and sewn by the Cherry Tree volunteers and friends.There will be three days of films and speakers this year. You can find the programme here.

There is now an opportunity to vote at your local branch of Tesco for the winning project in the Bags of Help scheme which is distributing funds raised through the sale of carrier bags. You can vote from 31st October for 2 weeks in the Tesco Muscliff Express and Northbourne Express. One of the shortlisted projects is the Gateway Project proposed by the Stour Valley Supporters and Cherry Tree Nursery. This aims to create new nature trails in the woodlands, meadows and riverbank between Kingfisher Barn and Cherry Tree, and to provide information about plants and mental health. Cherry Tree may get its own naturalistic wooden sculpture!

We know many of you donate to Cherry Tree anonymously, and we never get the chance to thank you. To all of you invaluable anonymous donors, one of our volunteers sends this heartfelt message which speaks for all of us:

Thank you to all our Anonymous Donors

29 September 2016

Dear Anonymous Donors

On behalf of everyone at Cherry Tree Nursery, we would like to thank all our anonymous friends and supporters who donate to our charity and do not receive an acknowledgment letter; we want to thank you all for your very kind donations.  We really do appreciate the fact that you have thought of us in this way.

Please know that you are making a difference to people’s lives for the better.  Our charity has been in existence for 26 years now, so we must be doing something right.  We feel people in the wider community recognise this fact, which is a good enough reason to support us should you choose to do so.

Life for me before Cherry Tree Nursery was bleak to say the least, full of despair, anxiety and depression.  When things got tough, I had always been able to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  This time was different.  The light was no longer there.  This revelation scared me.  I was on the edge of a precipice.  I could no longer see anything ahead of me, only darkness.

Darkness was a familiar friend I did not invite into my life.  I had always surfaced back up to the light, but not this time.  I was on the verge of ending my life, a life that had only known suffering at the hands of others.  A life half-lived is how I look back on it, sad but true.

I grew up with no sense of self.  I did not know who I was, just a bundle of emotion and anger mainly, not knowing when the lid was going to blow off the pressure cooker.  I did not want to be that person any more.  I made an appointment to see my doctor because I knew I was not coping, I had reached the end of the road.

My doctor at the time referred me to Cherry Tree Nursery.  I started there the next week as a volunteer and I have never looked back.  I have learnt to propagate, weed and feed plants, prune and pot on plants to larger size pots.  Over time I began to relax and feel more at peace within myself.  I have made many new friends and have a social life, my life is much richer than it was and I have Cherry Tree to thank for that.

Cherry Tree Nursery has completely changed my life for the better.  I have two beautiful granddaughters and they are the light within my life.  Being a volunteer at Cherry Tree Nursery is the best thing that has ever happened to me.  Thank you, Jess, for believing in me when I did not have the strength or inclination to believe in myself.

Yours sincerely

Eileen Foley
Volunteer

Leave a Reply

